“Vampires in the Lemon Grove” by Karen Russell

“Vampires in the Lemon Grove” by Karen Russell (2013) – 243 pages

g12c000000000000000968219f3805148771c2724c7a5c1e439966bdf9b

After my extremely positive reaction to “Swamplandia” by Karen Russell, I fully expected that my review of “Vampires in the Lemon Grove” would be filled with paroxysms of delight.  However such is not the case.  I found the story collection “Vampires in the Lemon Grove” only intermittently interesting.

So how is “Vampires” so different from “Swamplandia”? First although the main characters in these stories include vampires, young Chinese women, ex-Presidents reincarnated as horses, etc., these characters did not seem sharply delineated.  Whereas each member of the Big Tree family in “Swamplandia” had their own distinctive personality and behavior traits which made them special, little attempt is made here in any of these stories to give the side characters a distinguishing touch.

The most disappointing example for me was the story “The Barn at the End of Our Term” which is about ex-US Presidents re-incarnated as horses.  Thus we have Rutherford Hayes, James Buchanan, William Harding, Dwight Eisenhower, and so on all now as horses.  I could have gone along with this humorous gimmick if only each horse was given some peculiar trait of the ex-President they were supposed to be a re-incarnated from.  Otherwise what’s the point?  As it was, there was not even an attempt to relate the horse to the traits of the particular ex-President.

Each of these stories is based on a gimmick.  Perhaps the most well-developed of the stories is “Reeling for the Empire”  in which young Chinese girls are taken away from their families and given a strong tea drink that turns them into human silkworms.  Give Russell credit; this is one sick disgusting idea for a story, especially when the girls start producing silk all over their bodies, and then the silk is extracted from them.  However the story would have been much stronger if the individual girls and women were given more defined personalities.

Of course Russell has gotten a lot of static for putting vampires in the title of her story collection when so much lame writing today is about vampires.  What I found most offensive is that it opens with the vampire story which is rather a loser story.

There were times when I could get caught up in a few of the stories and just enjoy them, but throughout the collection there was writing that just wasn’t that tight.  The characters were sludgy and vague, and the plots were not well-framed.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Perhaps I’ll start with Swamplandia. I’m sure it’s at the library. The premise seemed a little too cute for my taste, but your recommendation tipped the balance for me. Thanks. P.

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Peter,
      By this point I suspect that the libraries have tons of copies of Swamplandia available, the rush is over. I suspect that Karen Russell is working on a new novel, and these stories may have been leftovers of those that were selected for the first collection. Also she has been very busy for about two years making appearances across the nation.

      Like

      Reply

  2. I wasn’t a fan of Swamplandia, so I never really intended to read Vampires. Now I can rest easy that I’m not missing anything! Thanks for the review!

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Jeanie F.
      I listened to the audio book of Swamplandia and was much charmed. For Vampires I read the print edition, and maybe that is why I have such differing opinions of the two books. Some books especially if they have the right reader sound really good in audio. ‘Harold Frye’ was another where the audio bowled me over; there they had famous actor Jim Broadbent doing the reading.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

