‘Purge’ by Sofi Oksanen – Free Estonia!

‘Purge’ by Sofi Oksanen   (2010) – 390 pages    Translated by Lola Rogers

imagerepository

After reading ‘When the Doves Disappeared’ earlier this summer, I had no choice.  That novel was so dramatic and intense, I absolutely had to read Sofi Oksanen’s earlier novel ‘Purge’.  ‘Purge’ is perhaps an even stronger novel than ‘When the Doves Disappeared’, but it is a close call between the two books.

Here is the setup of the story in ‘Purge’.  In 1992, An old woman, Aliide Truu, living in the Estonian countryside finds a young woman, Zara, lying in her yard and brings her into her house.  Oksanen sets the situation up nicely as the two women develop a relationship so that Zara acts more like a daughter to Aliide than her own daughter.

Two ruthless men are pursuing Zara who was forced to work for them at sex trafficking and has now escaped.

The young woman Zara is hardly more than a girl.  Zara wanted to get money for college, but instead she was taken up by two violent young Russian male pimps, Pasha and Lavrenti, who drove her to Berlin, Germany and peddled her for sex.

The old woman Aliide had to face her own brutal interrogation in the 1940s after the Russians took over Estonia from the Germans.

Oksanen pursues her usual technique of presenting short scenes out of order.  The present time of the novel is 1992, but we are presented flashbacks for both Zara and Aliide.

Let’s talk a bit about this method of Sofi Oksanen, the method she has used effectively in both ‘Purge’ and ‘When the Doves Disappeared’.  ‘Purge’ started out as a play. And I believe that fact was crucial to Oksanen in arriving at her technique.

Instead of presenting her scenes in chronological order, she skips around from time to time, from place to place.  Thus one scene might be from 1992 in Estonia, and the next scene might be from 1991 in Vladivostok, and the next scene might be from 1945 in Estonia.  This allows each scene to be presented in real time rather than as a memory.  Real-times scenes in the here and now are much more vivid than memories.  I find this technique increases the impact of the story.  We are given the separate pieces of the puzzle as they are needed until they all fit together into a complete picture.  The method also allows Oksanen to tell complex stories using simple dramatic single scene building blocks.

Gradually the full stories of both women are revealed, and all the pieces of the mosaic fit together into a compelling story.

Oksanen deals with the totality of these two women’s situations, the bad as well as the good.  The author never veers away from any subject because it is just too awful or disgusting whether it be political torture or sex trafficking.  Evil as these subjects are, they are a part of the lives of these people and must be dealt with.  That is why ‘Purge’ gets to deeper truths than other novels do.  In the presence of overwhelming evil, one must make allowances for ordinary people in order for them to survive.

 

Grade:   A

8 responses to this post.

  1. You are so right for me these both great I know.some people found second book not as good I wonder if that was just the fact the two main characters where male rather than female

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi WinstonsDad,
      As usual, I did things backwards. I read the second novel first and the first novel second. I think there is a tendency where if a reader reads a novel and is bowled over by it, then no matter how wonderful the second one is, it just can’t compare in the reader’s eyes.
      In many ways ‘When the Doves Disappeared’ tells a much more complete story than ‘Purge’, and I believe Sofi Oksanen is growing as a novelist with it. It deals with both the German and Russian occupations of Estonia, so it is much less one-sided than ‘Purge’ I gave both novels an A, loved them both.

      Like

      Reply

  2. I’ve got a couple of her books and know I should read them. I might start with this one.
    I like that it’s not chronological. When we remember the past, it’s hardly ever in a chronological way. I feel it adds to a book, when the order of the events is different.

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Caroline,
      Yes, I am very enthusiastic about Oksanen’s technique in both of her novels. This way we get the scenes real-time as they apply to the overall novel.
      Sofi Oksanen has been my number one discovery of 2015 so far. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. Posted by sylviemarieheroux on September 11, 2015 at 4:46 AM

    I discovered Oksanen in 2013 and read Purge, Staline’s Cows (which does not seem to exist in English translation, I read it in French), and When Doves Disappeared and it was me top discovery of that year. I don’t think I’ve had a wow moment like this since then.

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi sylviemarieheroux,
      I will keep my eyes open for a translation of ‘Staline’s Cows’ because I’m sure they will be translating it soon. I visited Estonia in 2009, and thought they really had their act together especially with their partnership with Finland. Now they have this wonderful fiction writer in Sofi Oksanen. Just like you, I consider her my top recent discovery, but unlike you I must wait for English translations. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

