Some Less Well-Known Fiction Authors Who Wrote Some Mighty Fine Fiction

 

In order to qualify for this list, an author must be one I haven’t heard much about recently and who had at least two works of fiction I found amazing.

 

Maria Thomas – United States writer Maria Thomas went to Ethiopia as a young woman volunteering for the Peace Corps in 1971 and remained in Africa for fifteen years.  She captured the beauty and harshness and mystery of Africa in her fiction.  She was killed at age 47 along with her husband in a plane crash in 1989 while inspecting an Ethiopian refugee camp.  Two works by Maria Thomas that I can strongly recommend are the story collection ‘Come to Africa and Save Your Marriage’ and the novel ‘Antonia Saw the Oryx First’.

 

 

Elizabeth Taylor – The English writer Elizabeth Taylor had to be the most underrated writer in the world, although the world may finally be catching up with her since two of her novels have been made into movies during the last twelve years (‘Angel and ‘Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont’).   It must be difficult building your own career when there is someone much more famous with the same name. I still have problems googling the author Elizabeth Taylor. She wrote twelve novels, and I have read them all.  She also wrote four short story collections, and I have read them all.  The stories are excellent, but I will highlight two of her novels,  ‘In a Summer Season’ and ‘The Soul of Kindness’.  Perhaps another reason Elizabeth Taylor is under-appreciated was because she made it all seem so easy.

 

Alberto Moravia – For Italian fiction, Alberto Moravia was the Elena Ferrante of his time at least in my estimation.  Everything he wrote is well worth reading, but two that I particularly liked are ‘The Fancy Dress Party’ which got him into trouble with Mussolini and ‘Contempt’ which is a short novel that highlights Moravia’s psychological intensity.  I have read nearly a dozen works and hope to read more.

 

 

 

Michel Tournier – The French writer Michel Tournier reworked classic stories in an odd and magical fashion.  In ‘Friday’ he took on the Robinson Crusoe story.  In ‘The Four Wise Men’ he retells the story of the biblical wise men.  Another favorite of mine is ‘The Ogre’.  Here is another fiction writer whose every work is well worth reading, but what makes him particularly valuable is his strange originality.  However his work is also easy to follow.  Tournier died in 2016.

 

 

Angela Huth – Here is another English fiction writer whom I discovered that the world still has not caught on to yet although many have appreciated the televised series ‘The Land Girls’.  I discovered Huth through her excellent short stories, but I will recommend here two of her novels I have read, ‘Easy Silence’ and ‘Invitation to the Married Life’ as well as ‘Land Girls’.  She can make her characters quite empathetic even while exposing their flaws.

 

 

 

Jorge Amado – It is easy to overlook Brazilian writer Jorge Amado among all the other fine South American writers, but I can’t think of any writer I enjoyed reading more than Amado.  He made the colorful life and people in Brazil come alive for me in his novels.  Two of his novels I will recommend here are ‘Gabriela, Clove, and Cinnamon’ and ‘Home is the Sailor’, but all of his work is quite reliable.

“I am like my characters – sometimes even the female ones.” – Jorge Amado

 

Perhaps I will have another list of less known favorite writers later.

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Elizabeth Taylor is a big favourite of mine – but most of the rest of your list are new to me. I knew of Alberto Moravia but haven’t read him.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Hi heavenall,
      Alberto Moravia, like Elena Ferrante, is one of those writers who I classify as “Reliable”. That means that the chances are quite high that I will like any book of theirs I decide to read. That is why I’ve read most every fiction these two writers have written.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Interesting list and most are new to me, although I had heard of Elizabeth Taylor ( thanks to Ali!) and Michel Tournier, who I have always meant to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Ah, I have Tournier and Moravia in my TBR shelves, but not the others. I keep hearing about Elizabeth Taylor, but Have never got round to chasing up any of her books.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Hi Lisa,
      I believe Tournier and Moravia are right up your alley because they both expanded the boundaries of fiction, especially Tournier. You might not be so attracted to Elizabeth Taylor as I see her as a modern-day Jane Austen. It depends on your opinion of Austen. Me, I like both the wild Tournier fables as well as the down-to-earth Elizabeth Taylor.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

